CRJ200 Airline Pilot

The personal experiences, thoughts of an CRJ captain

Pick Your Headset and Fly

Posted by Jeffrey on August 26, 2008

David Clark H10-13.4 Headset

David Clark H10-13.4 Headset

Since the first day I started flying, I’ve worn a headset…and you will, too. I’ve borrowed headsets from flight schools, which can be pretty nasty and might be just barely working, or you can make an investment in good headset that is going to last. I’ve owned two headsets in my whole flying career which has spanned almost 25 years.

Why are headsets a must? Basically, they are going to save your hearing with the added benefit that you will be able to hear your flight instructor and passengers. If you are just starting to fly general aviation (GA) single-engine piston airplanes, you will want to invest in a good headset.

The headset I recommend for anyone flying a piston airplane and which I personally own, are the David Clark Aviation Headset, H10-13.4

It has lots a super qualities:

  • Extremely Lightweight – only 13.4 oz. It won’t strain your neck muscles.
  • Certified Noise Reduction Rating – 23 dB – which reduces noise fatigue.
  • Reduced Headband Force – means it won’t squeeze your head thus making it comfortable to wear for longer flights.
  • New Soft Air-Flow Pillow Headpad. This is the part that sits on top of your head. Trust me, I’ve rented headsets that have a headpad made of rubber. It was PURE torture to wear it. By the end of the flight, I was ready to scream. This headpad really is comfortable.
  • Flo-Fit Gel Ear Seals – Again, a must, but I would recommend getting Cloth Ear Cushion Covers to put over these. If you start to sweat, you will be glad you have them.
  • Universal Flex Boom for perfect microphone placement – This is one of my favorite features. It’s flexible and will not break. Other boom mics have a wire contraption which will break…guaranteed! It also allows for perfect placement in front of your mouth for crisp, clear communications.
  • The David Clark Aviation Headset, H10-13.4 has the most advanced noise-cancelling microphone available and yes, this is important! You will find that ambient noises and radio interference will distort your communications. The noise-cancelling feature takes care of that and you don’t need to carry any batteries to do it.
  • Low-Profile Volume Control Knobs with Detent Settings- Honestly, not very useful. I never use mine.
  • Molded Cord Assembly made to exceptional pull and flex standards – This is another feature that makes these headsets so likeable. The cord is sturdy, yet flexible. It is not going to rip or tangle on you, but most important, it will stay out of your way.

There are a lot of good headsets on the market, but they are not as reliable as the David Clark Aviation Headset, H10-13.4. Like I said though, I still have my pair and they have never given me any trouble. But since I fly jets now, I use a different headset which I will talk about later.

Till next time…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
